Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder  Review

This weeks blog post is about my favourite setting powder Urban Decays De-Slick Mattifyiny Powder.
What I will be filling you in on:

1. Product Description,

2. Why I love it,

3. Price and

4. Packaging.

1. Product Description:

Urban Decays description of the setting powder: “This lightweight pressed powder blots oil and stops shine without messing up your makeup.Shiny can be really good (when it comes to expensive jewelry, for example) or really bad (when it comes to your T-zone). To curb shiny skin and keep the attention on you for all the RIGHT reasons, use De-Slick, our cult-favorite, shine-stopping pressed powder.

Don’t let the pale lavender color fool you; this baby goes on invisibly and works on every skin tone. Try it on naked skin (if you run into the hot guy at the gym), or over foundation (for touch-ups on the dance floor without destroying your makeup). Because the formula contains super lightweight, oil-absorbing rice powder, you won’t feel the powder but you’ll see the shine-free results.

Because it’s made from rice powder, this lightweight, super-absorbent formula not only banishes shine, but also absorbs oil. Most pressed powders mix with the skin’s natural oils and can end up looking cakey on your complexion, but not De-Slick. And it’s infused with tea tree oil to calm and soothe sensitive skin.

This shine-fighting formula comes in a luxe Lucite compact with a pretty-but-edgy design drenched in our signature dark purple (so you’ll look as good applying it as you will afterward).”

It is rather long description but I do agree with it entirely. I have been using this powder for months and I find the product description to be entirely true. Also, you get 11g of product.

Above is my full face of makeup with the Vichy Dermablend foundation set with the Urban Decay powder.

2. Why I love it,

I first mentioned this setting powder in my Vichy Dermablend Review, basically I found that the Dermablend foundation was broken down by my natural oils and did not last throughout the day. So I then purchased the De-Slick Mattifying Powder to see would it help keep my foundation stay in place because I really liked the coverage and did not want to give up on the foundation. Basically it worked really well at keeping my oil at bay and really improved the longevity of my makeup and I’ve used it ever since! I have also used it with my Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation and it is perfect for setting both foundations.It really improved longevity of my makeup I get a lot longer out of my makeup because of this setting powder.

A little goes a long way. I’ve been using my first compact for approximately four months and I still have a lot left.

I carry it in my clutch on nights out and I dust it over my face to absorb any excess oil and it completely refreshes my makeup.

Also, as it says in the description it is not the least bit cakey and looks perfect overtop of my base. I apply the setting powder after I have completed my base – primed, applied foundation, concealer, under eye concealer and I have set my under eye.

There is one aspect of the setting powder I am not overly crazy about and that is it gives a really matte finish and I love a dewy finish to my makeup. However, I have a remedy for this, when I am finished my makeup and before I use setting spray I spritz my face with Mac Fix+. I let it dry down into my face and I have my desired dewy finish.


Full face of makeup with the Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation set with the De-Slick Mattifying Powder.

3. Price:

I bought mine in Debenhams and on their website the price is €24.00. It does seem expensive for a setting powder but a little does go a long way and one compact does last for months so personally I feel like I get value for money and I will be repurchasing when I run out.


The powder in its pan and mirror.

4. Packaging:

The outer packaging is a square box, with an ombré purple effect around the entire box. On the front of the packaging in silver is the brand initials and brand name raised from the box, what it is and how much product you get. On the right side of the box the brand initials are embossed into it.

The back has a miniature description which reads “This lightweight, shine-stopping powder blots oil and keeps shine at bay. Try De-Slick on naked skin or over makeup. Our formula contains super lightweight rice powder, so you don’t feel it but you’ll see the shine- free results. AND it works on every skin tone from dark chocolate to palest porcelain, invisibly.” Underneath is the description in another language and below that again is what the product is in numerous languages. Then there is an address in California and a French address, that it was made in Canada, the urban decay website and the list of ingredients.

On the left side of the box “beauty with an edge” which is Urban Decays slogan is embossed into the packaging. The top of the box is plain and the bottom has the barcode, batch number and tells us that the product expires after 24 months i.e. two years.

The circular compact is the quintessential purple of Urban Decay. On the front is the Urban Decay initials with a swirly leaf like design. On the back is the brand name, what the product is, how much product you get, an address in California, a French address and the Urban Decay web address. It also states the product was made in Canada and has a 24 month – two year – life span.

Inside the lid of the compact is a mirror and in the base is the product pan, it comes with a circular sponge for applying the product, I prefer to use a powder brush so I used the applicator to clean the compact. The back of the applicator is purple and has the brand initials, the sponge is white. There is also a plastic insert that keeps the applicator and product from touching, it is clear except for the brand initials and slogan.

The setting powders packaging.

I’d love to hear any thoughts you have on my blog, and if you have used the setting powder let me know your opinion of it in the comments!

Disclaimer: all opinions expressed and photos used are my own. Prices quoted are correct at time of writing. This post is not sponsored.

Thank you for reading! I shall be posting another blog next Wednesday so stay tuned and I hope you have a fantastic week.

Published by

TheIrishUnicornBeautyBlog

I'm am a 23 year old Irish girl. I've a love for beauty and anything that sparkles hence the name. I'm not a trained makeup artist I just try products see how I feel about them and then review them!

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Powder  Review”

Leave a Reply

