Estée Lauder Double Wear Review

This week’s blog is a review of Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation. I’ll be discussing the following.

  1. Product Description,
  2. Packaging,
  3. Price and
  4. My opinion of the product.

  1. Product Description:

On the Estée Lauder website, it is described as: Proven 24-hour staying power.

The same long-wear makeup you love, now proven to last even longer. Looks flawless and natural.

Feels lightweight and so comfortable, you won’t believe it’s super long wear.

Won’t change color, smudge or come off on clothes.

Lasts through heat and humidity.”

The website also lists the benefits, coverage, finish and formula facts of the foundation:

BENEFITS

LONG-WEAR: PROVEN 24-HOUR WEAR. MEDIUM-TO-FULL COVERAGE. 

COVERAGE

MEDIUM TO FULL

FINISH

MATTE

FORMULA FACTS

  • OIL-FREE
  • OIL-CONTROLLING
  • DERMATOLOGIST-TESTED
  • NON-ACNEGENIC; WON’T CLOG PORES
  • FRAGRANCE-FREE”

File 22-03-2017, 8 02 07 p.m.
A finished makeup look using Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation.

  1. Packaging:

The packaging, in my opinion, is elegant and expensive looking. The outer box is rectangular, a shiny navy with the writing in a dark gold. The front of the box has the brand logo, brand name, what the product is and how much product is within. The left side of the box states the ingredients, a New York and London address, states that it was made in Belgium, the Estée Lauder website, the product also has a life of 24 months i.e. two years.

The back and right side of the box contains information about the product in several languages, it reads:

“Double Wear
Stay-in-Place Makeup SPF 10
For All Skintypes.
This remarkable lasting, yet lightweight makeup wears comfortably up to 15 hours, even in high humidity. Won’t smudge or come off on clothes. Oil-Free. Fragrance-free. Non-acnegenic. Dermatologists and Ophthalmologist-tested.
WARNING: Keep out of eyes. Stop use if irritation occurs. Keep out of reach of children.”

The bottom of the box has the barcode, batch number and states it was made in Belgium.

The top of the box has a label on it that states the shade of the foundation.

The bottle that contains the foundation is a rectangular frosted glass and has a cylindrical golden cap. One thing I despise about the packaging is that it does not have a foundation pump. I pour the foundation into a small round clear pot from Penneys/ Primark, you get 5 of them for €1.50.

The front of the box states the brand logo and brand name in gold, and what the product is in black. The back of the bottle has the warning that was on the back of the outer packaging on it. There is a gold label on the bottom of the bottle, on it is the shade, amount of product, New York and London addresses, that it was made in Belgium, product lifespan and Estée Lauder website.

Packaging collage
A collage of the packaging.

  1. Price:

I bought mine in Debenhams where it costs €40.00. It is also available in Brown Thomas, but curiously the price is listed as €38.00 – €40.00, and Boots where it retails for €37.00. It is worth noting that if you look at all three websites, Debenhams has the most shades to choose from.

Estée Lauder is a luxury brand hence why they have such a high price point.

Finished Makeup using Boiing
Another finished makeup look using Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation.

  1. My opinion of the product:

Now I will start by saying I do not agree with all of the product description, it is not a lightweight foundation it feels heavy but looks lightweight. When you initially apply it, it is very noticeable how heavy it feels on the skin but as the day or night goes on you stop noticing it. The reason for it feeling heavy is because it is a setting foundation. This means that once it is applied and blended it will begin to set on the skin. Whilst this is excellent because it makes it long lasting. This means you have to be more careful when applying it and that you are happy with an area before you move onto the next because if you move on to another area and realise you want more coverage in a previous area you have already completed and you go back over it with more product it will go cakey in appearance.

In my opinion, Double Wear is a very long lasting full coverage foundation with a matte finish. I really like this foundation it lasts all day or all night and gives my skin a healthy natural look. I have very red pigmentation so whilst Double Wear really helps hide the redness just for some extra coverage I used Benefits Boi-ing concealer, I then use Urban Decay De-Slick Mattifying Setting Powder to set my base because it really helps keep my oily T-zone at bay. I am not a fan of a matte finish so I use Mac Prep + Prime Natural Radiance Primer to give my skin a natural glow before applying the foundation. I also spray Mac Fix +, let it absorb into my skin before I spritz my Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray to give a dewy look to my skin which is my preferred finish.

I only wear this foundation sparingly as it is expensive but I have never had a bad experience with it and I can rely on it to see me throughout the day or night without having to worry about touch ups. It is perfect for job interviews, special occasions, nights out etc.

When I do run out of it I will be repurchasing, because of its full coverage and the fact that it is long lasting.

Bare vs Double Wear
On the left hand side photo I have no make up on whatsoever and on the right I just have the primer and Double Wear. As you can see the foundation gives phenomenal coverage.

I’d love to hear any thoughts you have on my blog, and if you have used the Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation please let me know your opinion of it in the comments!

Disclaimer: all opinions expressed and photos used are my own. Prices quoted are correct at time of writing. This post is not sponsored.

Thank you for reading! I shall be posting another blog next Wednesday so stay tuned and I hope you have a fantastic week.

 

 

Published by

TheIrishUnicornBeautyBlog

I'm am a 23 year old Irish girl. I've a love for beauty and anything that sparkles hence the name. I'm not a trained makeup artist I just try products see how I feel about them and then review them!

Leave a Reply

