MAC Burgundy Times Nine Review

In this week’s blog, I shall be reviewing the MAC Burgundy Times Nine Eyeshadow Palette. I will be talking about:

  1. The Product Description,
  2. My Opinion of the palette
  3. The Price and
  4. The Packaging.

1. Product Description:

On the Mac Cosmetics UK website as: β€œThis well-edited palette features a colour wave of burgundy hues that offer countless shade combinations. It provides an array of textures from matte to satin to frost for both day and night. The saturated, soft and smooth hues are all packaged in one compact for easy portability.

Shade Description:

Honey Lust: Bronzedipped peach (Lustre)

Poppyseed: Midtone mauvey nude (Satin)

Quarry: Soft muted plum brown (Matte)

Antiqued: Ash brown with bronze (Veluxe Pearl)

Embark: Intense reddish brown (Matte)

#Noir: Deep black brown with gold pearls (Velvet)

Haux: Soft muted rosy brown (Satin)

Star Violet: Pinky brown plum (Veluxe Pearl)

Sketch: Burgundy with red shimmer (Velvet)

Key Claims and Benefits:

Dermatologist tested.

Ophthalmologist tested.

Non-acnegenic.

Safe for contact lens wearers.

Can be used wet or dry.

Usage:

 Apply to lid using fingers, brush or sponge-tip applicator.”

Swatches 1
The shades swatched on my arm as they are listed in the description from left to right. This is also how they appear in the palette from top row to bottom row from left to right.

2. My opinion of the palette.

Honestly, I am a bit disappointed with the pigmentation especially considering it is MAC. The colour selection is gorgeous but I feel that I have to use a lot of product to get a proper colour pay off especially with Poppyseed, Quarry and Haux. I hate #Noir it is patchy when applied and hard to blend. I have created nice looks with the palette but the lack of pigment means I have to use more shadow then I normally would which is annoying. I tend to spray a brush with MAC Fix + for Honey Lust and Star Violet before I apply them just to make them more pigmented and vibrant.

I also find I need to use clean brushes with the shadows because once I was applying the shadows with brushes I had used once or twice since I had last cleaned and the colour pay-off was non-existent which is really annoying.

I do not like the fact that there is no shade that is similar to my skin tone so I can set my eyeshadow primer – I use MAC Paint Pot to prime my eyes –  and there is no shade that can be used to highlight the brow bone either.

Burgundy X 9 look 2
A look I created using the Burgundy Times Nine palette.

3. The Price:

I got my palette in Brown Thomas and it cost €33.50. I do not think it is worth the money and I will not be repurchasing it when I hit pan. Essentially it is a lot of money for 9 eyeshadows that are not that pigmented and you only get 0.8g/ 0.02 US OZ of each shade.

I would not recommend this palette especially when the Morphe palettes have 35 shades that I find to be highly pigmented and they cost around €27.

I have created pretty looks using the palette but I feel I shouldn’t have to work that hard to get my desired look from an expensive palette.

Burgundy X 9 look 1
Another look I used creating the palette.

4. Packaging.

The outer packaging is a black square cardboard box. On the front of the box is the brand name, what the product is and how much of each shade there is. The back has what the product is in different languages, lists the ingredients for each shade, a Canadian postal address, an English postal address, states the product was made in Canada and MACs website. The right and left sides of the box are blank, the bottom has the barcode and the top has the palette name on it.

The shadows are in a square black plastic box. The lid is mostly clear with the MAC logo on it in white, it is hinged to open back and has a magnetic close. The eyeshadows are sunken into the base in 3 X 3 rows. The base is black and there is a sticker on the bottom that has the same information that is on the box and also lists out the shadows in order of how they appear on the palette.

Packaging collage
A collage of the packaging.
I’d love to hear any thoughts you may have on my blog. If you have used this palette I’d love to hear your opinion of it!

Disclaimer: all opinions expressed are my own. Prices quoted are correct at time of writing. This post is not sponsored.

You can find the product lists for the looks featured in this post on my Instagram.

Thank you for reading! I shall be posting another blog next Wednesday. I hope you have a fantastic week.

Published by

TheIrishUnicornBeautyBlog

I'm am a 23 year old Irish girl. I've a love for beauty and anything that sparkles hence the name. I'm not a trained makeup artist I just try products see how I feel about them and then review them!

Leave a Reply

