MAC DoubleGleam Review

In this week’s blog, I’ll be reviewing MAC Cosmetics DoubleGleam Extra Dimension Skinfinish, essentially it’s a highlighter. I’ll be talking about the following:

1. Product Description,
2. My Opinion of the Highlighter,
3. Price and
4. Packaging.

1. Product Description:

On the MAC Cosmetics website, DoubleGleam is described as: “Extra Dimension Skinfinish adds the perfect glow to skin. The liquid-powder highlighter, with prismatic reflections, is designed to sculpt and highlight your face, leaving a luminous, well-defined finish. The creamy powder formula lasts up to 10 hours.

Key Claims and Benefits:

Long wearing, 10 hours

Non-acnegenic

Dermatologist tested

Ophthalmologist tested

For all skin types 

Usage:

 Apply to face using a brush as desired.

Shade: Description:

Beige that breaks silver.”

Daytime looks using DG
A day time day look using MAC DoubleGleam

2. My Opinion of the Highlighter:

I agree with all of the product description and the shade description is spot on.

Now, this highlighter is a blinding which I LOVE! Literally one swipe and BAM you are glowing but you can build it up as well to make it extra blinding. But if you prefer a more natural glow from within kind of highlight then I don’t think this one is for you.

I love how this highlight goes with my fair skin tone, I think it is very complimentary to it.

I use the Real Techniques Setting Brush to apply the highlight to my cheeks, above my brow and down my nose. I also apply it to my cupids bow, brow bone and inner corner but with a smaller more precise brush.

Essentially I do recommend this highlight as it is quickly becoming one of my favourites.

I also have 3 other MAC highlighters Beaming Blush, Lightscapade and Soft & Gentle which I have reviewed.

DoubleGleam day look
Anther day time look using the DoubleGleam.

3. Price:

I got my highlighter in Brown Thomas where it retails for €31.50. Now obviously this isn’t cheap, but you are paying for the name, the packaging and the high quality of the product. Also, you get 9g / 0.31 US OZ of product which is a lot.

Basically, for me it is worth the money because it is high quality, it is exactly what I like in a highlighter and you get a large amount of product.

DoubleGleam night look
A look I did for a night out using DoubleGleam.

4. Packaging:

The outer packaging is a black square cardboard box. On the front, it states what the product is, the net weight and there is also a circular window in which you can see the product through. On the back, it states what the product is in multiple languages, lists the ingredients, there is a Canadian postal address, states the product was made in Italy / MLGK and the MAC web address. The left and right side of the box is blank. The base of the box has the barcode on it and the batch code on it. The top of the box has a round sticker with the shade name on it.

The compact that contains the product is circular and made of black plastic. The lid is domed and opens back on a hinge by pressing a button. Part of the lid is see through and has the brand name on it.  The base of the compact is flat and all black. On the base there is a circular black sticker with the product name, product type, net weight, a UK postal address and that it was made in Italy / MLGK.

The product has a nice pattern embossed into it with lines in it on the top 2/3 and Mac on the bottom 1/3.

Packaging Collage
A collage of DoubleGleams packaging.

Thank you for reading! If you have used DoubleGleam I’d love to know your opinion of it.

Disclaimer: all opinions expressed are my own. Prices quoted are correct at the time of writing. This post is not sponsored.

You can find the product lists for the looks featured in this post on my Instagram.

I’ll be posting another blog next Wednesday. I hope you have a fantastic week!

 

Published by

TheIrishUnicornBeautyBlog

I'm am a 23 year old Irish girl. I've a love for beauty and anything that sparkles hence the name. I'm not a trained makeup artist I just try products see how I feel about them and then review them!

Leave a Reply

